On the 26th of May 2005 in St Michael's (Engineers) Castle a renovated open sculpture fund was opened. 134 artworks of the end of the 19th century — the beginning of 20th century were presented. The State Russian Museum was the first in the national museum practice to create public stocks in its palaces. At the eve of 100th jubilee in 1998 such a fund at the Rossi Wing was opened where visitors had an opportunity to get acquainted with the keeping custody of sculpture masterpieces of the 18th — the beginning of the 20th century. Now in the connection with the removing of the majority of sculpture collection to St Michael's Castle, the open sculpture fund with the use of more comfortable for viewing showcases was established here again. The exposition is fitted with the informational computer program, which contains all the essential material on sculptures and historical persons fixed in portraits. Such kind of museum collection demonstration allows extending the limits of the main exposition, presenting monographic complex of the most prominent masters. Later on according to the restoration and the coping of the 2-d floor apartments of St Michael's Castle, open fund museum areas will be considerably enlarged. Collection of masterpieces of P.P.Trubetskoi (1866 — 1938) and A. S. Golubkina (1864 — 1927), animalistic plastic of Y.A.Lanceray, A. L. Ober, V. A. Vatagin and sculpture of Modern Epoch — M. L. Dillon's works are most fully presented in the open fund. One of the showcases is devoted to the portrait of the beginning of the 20th century and particularly the oeuvre of S.T.Kotenkov, L. V. Sherwood, B. D. Korolev, V. V. Kusnetsov. Sculpture works by B.M.Kustodiev and D. S. Stelletsky, which are not presented at the "main" exposition, deserve special attention.
General sponsor VTB Bank (PJSC)
12 march—14 september 2020
February 26, 2020, marks the 175th anniversary of the birth of Emperor Alexander III, whose name was given to The State Russian Museum in April 1895. Special mention is made of Alexander III's merits in museum construction and art education, which was due to his undoubted passion for history and fine arts.
6 february—9 march 2020
Belsky brothers (Ivan (1719-1799), Alexey (1729-1796) and Efim (1730-1778)) were the greatest masters of the painting team of The Chancellery (later The Office) of buildings of Her Imperial Majesty. For more than half a century they performed the most responsible painting work commissioned by Empresses Elizabeth and Catherine the Great.
The collection of masterpieces, chosen by the Russian Museum will allow you to make a first impression of the collection of the Russian Museum.
Russian Museum - one of the world's largest museums and is perhaps the only country where such a full treasure of national culture are presented.
Virtual tour of the museum complex. 2009 (Rus., Eng., Ger., Fin.)
In the online shop of the Russian Museum presented a huge range of souvenirs, illustrated editions and multimedia disks.
Be informed about news, events and exhibitions of the Russian Museum
The State Russian Museum
The Russian Museum is the exclusive owner of all the interior images and pieces of art of the Russian Museum collection, as well as all the images and text information given on its official site. The usage of the texts and images provided on the site is only allowed with the permission of the Russian Museum.