Branches:

Family Relics and Contributions of the Stroganovs to Russian Churches. Opening of the permanent exposition

16 december 2005—31 december 2005
The unique works of applied art, icon painting and embroideries from the funds of the Russian Museum are shown in the rooms of the first floor, facing the Nevsky prospect. These works of art are connected with the prominent Russian dynasty of the Stroganovs. The rooms of the Stroganov Palace are chosen intentionally. Before the revolution this palace hosted numerous collections of the Stroganovs including paintings by Western-European and Russian artists, sculpture, icons and family relics. Chamber interiors of the rooms held the best works: small inscribed icons, related to the so called "Stroganov school" of icon painting, embroideries created by wives of the Stroganovs and fine enamels made by Usolsk craftsmen in the Stroganov ethels. The section of family relics of the Stroganoves introduces the wooden cross of the late 16th — early 17th century carved from the grave board of Princes Vasily and Konstantin Yaroslavsky. Nikita Grigorievich donated the cross to the Annunciation Cathedral of Solvychegodsk in 1610. Till the 19th century it was a part of priceless sacrarium. One of the earliest objects at the exposition is a shroud (1592), placed in a house church of the Stroganovs in the Annunciation Cathedral in Solvychegodsk. This ancient work of art has preserved set-in and liturgical inscriptions on edges. The exhibition fully presents embroideries of the 17th century, created in the gold sewing workshop of Anna Ivanovna, wife of Dmitry Stroganov. Excellent veils, shrouds and details of ecclesiastic attire were contributed to numerous churches and monasteries including Solovetsky Monastery. Some inscribed works originate from that monastery. The exposition is accompanied by objects of household of the Stroganoves. Silver dippers and stoups have preserved the names of their owners Maxim, Dmitry and Grigory Stroganov.
Exhibitions
The Leningrad Rock Club in Photographs. Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of Its Opening

The Leningrad Rock Club in Photographs. Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of Its Opening

17 december 2020—10 may 2021

The Leningrad Rock Club was established in early 1981 and has become a true center of attraction for musicians whose art did not fit into the Soviet cultural framework. The Leningrad Rock Club was a sign of the era of upcoming changes in the country and even now, after forty years, it is hardly needed to explain what was its role in the cultural and social life of Leningrad and, more broadly, the country.

A Photographic Perspective on St. Petersburg

A Photographic Perspective on St. Petersburg

2 november—30 november 2020

The exhibition completes the contest organized in cooperation with the Professional Photocenter Foto-One. Photographers were offered to show their view on St. Petersburg without any limitations in technique, genre, or style. The professional jury chose 97 works inspired by this unique city. Each and every photographer participating in the exhibition has his own, real and magical image of St. Petersburg.

Also in the Russian Museum
The Russian Museum recommends
Collection highlights
Collection highlights

The collection of masterpieces, chosen by the Russian Museum will allow you to make a first impression of the collection of the Russian Museum.

Start

Virtual tours
Virtual tours

Russian Museum - one of the world's largest museums and is perhaps the only country where such a full treasure of national culture are presented.
Virtual tour of the museum complex. 2009 (Rus., Eng., Ger., Fin.)

Details

Online Shop
Online Shop

In the online shop of the Russian Museum presented a huge range of souvenirs, illustrated editions and multimedia disks.

Go to store

Mobile Apps
Mobile Apps

Google PlayApp Store

Details